Our Solar System

Our Solar System


Solar System includes the Sun together with the eight planets and their moons, the dwarf planets (Eris, Pluto, and Ceres), the asteroids, comets and other celestial bodies that orbit the sun. Pluto, known as the 9th planet, it is no longer recognised as one of the planets in the solar system. The four planets closest to the sun, Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars, are called the terrestrial planets because they have solid rocky surfaces. The four large planets beyond the orbit of Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune, are called the gas giants. Solar comes from a Latin word SOL meaning sun. The solar system was formed about 4.6 billion years ago.

solar system Our Solar System

credit: edwardyanquen

solar system1 Our Solar System

Mercury  (Diameter: 4879.4 km)

solar system2 Our Solar System

Venus  (Diameter: 12103.6 km)

solar system3 Our Solar System

Earth (Diameter: 12742 km)

solar system4 Our Solar System

Mars  (Diameter: 6779 km)

solar system5 Our Solar System

Jupiter  (Diameter: 139822 km)

solar system6 Our Solar System

Saturn  (Diameter: 116464 km)

solar system7 Our Solar System

Uranus  (Diameter: 50724 km)

solar system8 Our Solar System

Neptune  (Diameter: 49244 km)

credit: chrismeller

solar system10 Our Solar System

credit: edwardyanquen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Relevant Articles

Copyright © 2009-2024 MagXics – Best News, Pictures and Entertainment · All rights reserved